From ‘Wallpaper Without Flowers’ by R.Nelson, 1992.

If there was a place for

For tears to run

Mine would wind

A salt river

To your door

The Smell of Night

I have taken all life’s colour

Drunk

The dripping freedom

Of the sun

I have watched

Waters

Clarity

Her apparent nothingness

Her unmeasured depth

Of untapped knowledge

Free

Unsilenced

I have sung

My mirage

Of opaque

Edens

And gathered

The smell of night

Serene

Power of moon

I have listened to

Utopias

Rainbow

Of Senses

And felt

Totally lived

Utterly real

IT

IT

WILL VISIT ME

AGAIN

WHEN I’M OFF

MY GUARD

WHEN I’M OFF

THE RAILS

IT

WILL JUMP OUT

OF A

DARK ALLEY

WHEN I’M WALKING

HOME FROM A

FRIENDS SECURITY

IT

WILL PLAY

CHILDISH GAMES

INSIDE

MY HEAD

BECAUSE IT CANNOT

HAVE

IT’S OWN WAY

IT

WILL GET TIRED

I

WILL GET STRONG

IT

WILL

LEAVE

Leave a Reply

